The life annuity market in France

 

The life annuity is a real estate "micro-market" which currently represents barely 1% of the real estate market. Currently, there are 4,000 to 5,000 life annuity sales per year. However, the latest statistics show an increase in the life annuity market. According to the Cabinet Renée Costes Viager, it is, on the territory, "a dynamic market, which grows by 5 to 6% per year". Investors and seniors alike are beginning to realize the many advantages this product offers.

More and more seniors are now deciding to sell their property as a life annuity in order to obtain additional income that will allow them to live better while remaining in their home. This solution continues to democratize and the media are starting to talk about it regularly at prime time.

The French are interested in life annuity property sales. Some choose this solution to protect their parents. The life annuity is experiencing a new youth. Demand is exploding, boosted by the Covid and the repelling effect of nursing homes. The life annuity is essential as a solution to stay at home as long as possible.

A growth market

Life annuity is a buoyant market supported by several structural factors:


• The aging of the French population: the number of people aged over 60 should constitute more than 30% of the French population by 2040;
• The reduction in the purchasing power of French retirees: between the ages of 55 and 80, purchasing power decreases by almost 40% on average;
• The vast majority of seniors own their home: 72% of people over the age of 70 own their main residence;
• The desire of French retirees to stay in their accommodation for life;
• The desire of retirees to remain financially independent and the difficulty for families to help their parents.


The life annuity is therefore the oldest retirement in the world and a solution adapted to contemporary challenges meeting the needs of both seniors and savers.

Le Marché du viager en France

 

Le viager est un « micro-marché » de l’immobilier qui représente à l’heure actuelle à peine 1% du marché immobilier. Actuellement, on enregistre 4 000 à 5 000 ventes en viager par an. Cependant, les dernières statistiques démontrent une hausse du marché du viager. Selon le Cabinet Renée Costes Viager, il s’agit, sur le territoire, « d’un marché dynamique, qui croit de 5 à 6% par an ». Les investisseurs tout comme les seniors commencent à prendre conscience des nombreux avantages qu’offre ce produit.

De plus en plus de seniors décident aujourd’hui de vendre leur bien en viager dans le but d’obtenir un revenu complémentaire qui leur permettra de mieux vivre tout en restant dans leur domicile. Cette solution continue de se démocratiser et les médias commencent à en parler régulièrement à des heures de grande écoute.

Les Français se montrent intéressés par les ventes immobilières en viager. Certains choisissent cette solution pour mettre leurs parents à l'abri. Le viager vit une nouvelle jeunesse. Les demandes explosent, boostées par le Covid et l’effet repoussoir des Ehpad. La rente viagère s'impose comme une solution pour rester à domicile le plus longtemps possible.

Un marché porteur

L’immobilier en viager est un marché porteur soutenu par plusieurs facteurs structurels :


• Le vieillissement de la population française : le nombre de personnes âgées de plus de 60 ans devrait constituer plus de 30 % de la population française d’ici à 2040 ;
• La diminution du pouvoir d’achat des retraités français : entre 55 et 80 ans, le pouvoir d’achat diminue de près de 40% en moyenne ;
• La grande majorité des seniors sont propriétaires de leur logement : 72 % des personnes âgées de plus de 70 ans sont propriétaires de leur résidence principale ;
• La volonté des retraités français de rester dans leur logement leur vie durant ;
• La volonté des retraités de rester autonome financièrement et la difficulté pour les familles d’aider leurs parents.


Le viager est donc la plus ancienne retraite du monde et une solution adaptée aux enjeux contemporains répondant à la fois aux besoins des séniors et des épargnants.