Our approach

Seniors are more and more likely to resort to this form of property sale that is the life annuity and there is no doubt that they will be even more tomorrow. And for good reason: the population is aging, life expectancy is increasing, retirement pensions are decreasing, leading to a drop in their purchasing power.

 

In September 2018, the Prime Minister asked Dominique Libault, President of the High Council for the Financing of Social Protection (HCFPS), to conduct a study leading to guidelines and courses of action for an ambitious reform of the care of people weakened by advancing age.

 

The Libault Report “Old age, time to act” published in March 2019 marked the old age sector by the relevance of its inventory and its recommendations. It highlights the many challenges France faces in coping with the growing number of elderly people.

 

The increase in life expectancy and the arrival at an advanced age of the first generations of the baby boom raise the question of care for the elderly. France is aging but the challenge of advancing age is still ahead of us: the share of people aged 75 or over rose from 6.6% in 1990 to 9.1% in 2015, i.e. an increase of 2.5 points in 25 years.

 

In 2040, 14.6% of French people will be 75 or over, an increase of 5.5 points in 25 years. The Libault Report poses with great acuity the need to change our perspective on old age. According to INSEE figures, in 2040 more than 10 million people will be over 75, an increase of nearly 70% compared to 2018.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In other words, over the next 20 years, millions of people in France will be faced with the challenge of old age and the care of dependency.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The lengthening of the lifespan and the advancing age of the baby-boomer generation (now papy-boomers) are leading to the aging of the French population.

 

13.8 million French people were over 65 in 2020, or 20.8% of the French population. In 2050, a third of the population will be over 65 years old, whereas they represented only one person in five in 2005. This increase is even more marked for the oldest people. In 2050, the number of seniors over 85 will cross the 5 million mark, 3.2 times more than today.

 

Life expectancy is increasing by an average of four months per year:

• In 2019, it is at birth 88 years for women and 83 years for men;

• In 2050, forecasts predict a life expectancy of 90 years for women and 86 years for men.

 

This increase in life expectancy is leading to an explosion in the number of very old but able-bodied people. Thus in 2050, of the 5 million over 85 years old, 3 million will be autonomous and 2 million in a situation of loss of autonomy.

age.PNG
graph.PNG
ages.PNG

The fall in pensions for retirees

The gross average pension is currently estimated at € 1,578 (all plans combined, derived rights included), by the Retirement Orientation Council (COR).

The graph showing the data from the report of the retirement guidance council (June 2019) illustrates the increase in the share of pensions in French society.

 

At the turn of the century, there were 2.1 people contributing for every 1 retired person. This ratio drops steadily to reach 1.7 in 2017 and is expected to reach 1.4 in 2050. Therefore, everyone knows that the level of pension benefits is also set to decline over the years.

 

According to a study carried out by the European Commission and made public in 2009, France is, because of the reforms acted previously, one of the countries in Europe which has planned to reduce the most what is called the "replacement rate" of pensions, that is, the ratio between the net pension a retiree receives and his net salary when he retires.

 

Based on the reforms enacted in 2006, the Commission estimated this rate in 2006 and 2046 in the 27 countries of the Union for a man who had worked full time and paid contributions for 40 years at the time of his retirement.

 

In France, this rate should drop from 79% in 2006 to 63% in 2046, a drop of 16.5 points. Suddenly, in 2046, the French replacement rate would be among the lowest in Europe. The change in the replacement rate is even more accentuated when a distinction is made between non-managerial staff and managerial staff.

 

A simulation of the possible evolution of replacement rates carried out by Alternatives économique shows the replacement rate for executives would fall to 42.7%, representing a significant drop in terms of purchasing power and standard of living.

At the time of the transition to retirement, a growing contradiction appears between the lengthening of the life span and the reduction of the resources to continue to live in good conditions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seniors are more and more owners of their main residence

The share of owner households up 15 points

Between 1968 and 2014, in mainland France excluding Corsica, the number of households increased from 15.7 to 27.9 million following the increase in the population and the decrease in the size of households.

 

In 2014, 16.1 million households owned their homes, or 58% of the total. They were only 43% in 1968. Conversely, households housed free of charge have considerably decreased: they represent only 2% of households in 2014 against 12% in 1968. The share of households tenants fell by more than 4 points and stood at 40% in 2014.

In general, the share of owners increases with age: households whose referent is over 60 are more often owners, both in 2014 and 1968. The gap with the other age groups has widened. . Among households over 60 years of age, the share of homeowners has increased by 19 points in about fifty years, the largest increase.

 

The oldest households in 2014 were those who reached intermediate ages during the years 1968 to 1990, a period more favorable to home ownership. This more marked increase in the share of owners among seniors is present in all regions, but it is particularly pronounced in Île-de-France.

 

In conclusion, nearly 75% of seniors (60 years or over) own their main residence. Consequently, the conjunction of these different factors - the increase in the number of seniors, the fall in pensions and the possibility of staying at home - explains the favorable outlook for the market for life annuity sales.

 

This trend can be summed up in a few words: Live better in retirement. Selling on an occupied life annuity basis is a way for seniors to improve their retirement, with additional income while retaining the lifetime use of their property.

Notre approche

Les seniors sont de plus en plus nombreux à recourir à cette forme de vente immobilière qu’est le viager et nul doute qu’ils le seront encore plus demain. Et pour cause : la population vieillit, l’espérance de vie augmente, les pensions de retraite diminuent, entraînant une baisse de leur pouvoir d’achat.

 

En septembre 2018, le Premier ministre a demandé à Dominique Libault, président du Haut Conseil du financement de la protection sociale (HCFPS), de conduire une étude amenant à des orientations et pistes d’action pour une réforme ambitieuse de la prise en charge des personnes fragilisées par l’avancée en âge.

 

Le Rapport Libault « Grand âge, le temps d’agir » publié en mars 2019 a marqué le secteur du grand âge par la pertinence de son état des lieux et de ses recommandations. Il met en évidence les nombreux défis auxquels la France est confrontée pour faire face à l’accroissement du nombre de personnes âgées.

 

La hausse de l’espérance de vie et l’arrivée à un âge avancé des premières générations du baby-boom posent la question de la prise en charge des personnes âgées. La France vieillit mais le défi de l’avancée en âge est encore devant nous : la part des 75 ans ou plus est passé de 6,6 % en 1990 à 9,1 % en 2015 soit une hausse de 2,5 points en 25 ans.

 

En 2040, 14,6 % des Français auront 75 ans ou plus soit une hausse de 5,5 points en 25 ans. Le Rapport Libault pose avec une grande acuité la nécessité de faire évoluer le regard sur le grand âge. Selon les chiffres de l’INSEE, en 2040 plus de 1O millions de personnes auront plus de 75 ans, soit une augmentation de près de 70% par rapport à 2018.

En d’autres termes, au cours des 20 prochaines années, des millions de personnes en France vont être confrontées au défi du grand âge et à la prise en charge de la dépendance.

L’allongement de la durée de vie et l’avancée en âge de la génération des baby-boomers (désormais papy-boomers) portent le vieillissement de la population française.

 

13,8 millions de français avaient plus de 65 ans en 2020, soit 20,8% de la population française. En 2050, un tiers de la population aura plus de 65 ans alors qu’ils ne représentaient qu’une personne sur cinq en 2005. Cette progression est encore plus marquée pour les personnes les plus âgées. En 2050, le nombre de seniors de plus de 85 ans franchira le cap des 5 millions de personnes soit 3,2 fois plus qu’aujourd’hui.

 

L’espérance de vie progresse en moyenne de quatre mois par an :

• En 2019, elle est à la naissance de 88 ans pour les femmes et de 83 ans pour les hommes ;

• En 2050, les prévisions prévoient une espérance de vie 90 ans pour les femmes et de 86 ans pour les hommes.

 

Cet allongement de l’espérance de vie conduit à l’explosion du nombre de personnes très âgées mais valides. Ainsi en 2050, sur les 5 millions de plus de 85 ans, 3 millions seront autonomes et 2 millions en situation de perte d’autonomie.

age.PNG
graph.PNG
ages.PNG

La baisse des pensions des retraités

La pension moyenne brute est actuellement estimée à 1578 € (tous régimes confondus, droits dérivés compris), par le Conseil d'orientation des retraites (COR).

Le graphique qui reprend les données du rapport du conseil d’orientation des retraites (juin 2019) illustre l’accroissement de la part des retraites dans la société française.

 

Au début du siècle, il y avait 2,1 personnes qui cotisaient pour 1 personne à la retraite. Ce ratio baisse régulièrement pour atteindre 1,7 en 2017 et est attendu à 1,4 en 2050. Dès lors, tout a chacun sait que le niveau de prestation des retraites est amené lui aussi à régresser au fil des ans.

 

Selon une étude réalisée par la Commission européenne et rendue publique en 2009, la France est, du fait des réformes actées précédemment, un des pays d’Europe qui a prévu de réduire le plus ce qu’on appelle le " taux de remplacement " des retraites, c’est-à-dire le rapport entre la pension nette que touche un retraité et son salaire net au moment où il part en retraite.

 

En fonction des réformes actées en 2006, la Commission a estimé ce taux en 2006 et en 2046 dans les 27 pays de l’Union pour un homme ayant travaillé à temps plein et cotisé quarante ans au moment de son départ en retraite.

 

En France, ce taux devrait ainsi passer de 79 % en 2006 à 63 % en 2046, soit une chute 16,5 points. Du coup, en 2046, le taux de remplacement français se situerait parmi les plus bas d’Europe. L’évolution du taux de remplacement est encore plus accentuée lorsqu’on fait la distinction entre non-cadre et cadre.

 

Une simulation de l’évolution possible des taux de remplacement réalisée par Alternatives économiques montre le taux de remplacement des cadres tomberait à 42,7 %, représentant une chute conséquente en termes de pouvoir d’achat et de niveau de vie.

Au moment du passage à la retraite, une contradiction grandissante fait son apparition entre l’allongement de la durée de vie et la diminution des ressources pour continuer à vivre dans de bonnes conditions.

 

Les seniors sont de plus en plus propriétaires de leur résidence principale

La part de ménages propriétaires en hausse de 15 points

Entre 1968 et 2014, en France métropolitaine hors Corse, le nombre de ménages a augmenté de 15,7 à 27,9 millions suite à l’augmentation de la population et à la diminution de la taille des ménages.

 

En 2014, 16,1 millions de ménages sont propriétaires de leur logement, soit 58 % de l’ensemble. Ils n’étaient que 43 % en 1968. À l’inverse, les ménages logés à titre gratuit ont, quant à eux, considérablement diminué : ils ne représentent que 2 % des ménages en 2014 contre 12 % en 1968. La part de ménages locataires a reculé de plus de 4 points et s’établit à 40 % en 2014.

De manière générale, la part de propriétaires croît avec l’âge : les ménages dont le référent a plus de 60 ans sont plus souvent propriétaires tant en 2014 qu’en 1968. L’écart avec les autres tranches d’âge s’est creusé. Chez les ménages de plus de 60 ans, la part de propriétaires augmente de 19 points en une cinquantaine d’années, soit la plus forte hausse.

 

Les ménages les plus âgés en 2014 sont ceux qui ont atteint des âges intermédiaires au cours des années 1968 à 1990, période plus favorable à l’accession à la propriété. Cette augmentation plus marquée de la part de propriétaires chez les seniors est présente dans toutes les régions, mais elle est particulièrement prononcée en Île-de-France.

 

En conclusion, près de 75% des seniors (60 ans ou plus) sont propriétaires de leur résidence principale. Dès lors, la conjonction de ces différents facteurs – l’accroissement du nombre de senior, la baisse des retraites et la possibilité de rester chez soi - explique les perspectives favorables du marché des ventes immobilières en viager.

 

Cette tendance peut être résumée en quelques mots : Mieux vivre sa retraite. Vendre en viager occupé, c’est pour les personnes âgées le moyen d’améliorer leur retraite, avec des revenus complémentaires tout en conservant l’usage à vie de leur propriété.